Caraway-Apple Braised Cabbage

Hey! I’m back! Sorry I haven’t posted in so long. Unfortunately work took over my life for quite a while. I felt like I was in a reality TV series, Kitchen Confidential or something. Things got crazy and hectic, leaving me without time for blogging. The dust seems to be settling now – thankfully. I finally have time and energy to get back into this. Time to share some more recipes with you!

Since we’re into fall now, I thought I’d share this great recipe for a seasonal side dish. So far this is my favorite way to eat cabbage. It’s sweet and sour and goes very well with roasted or braised meats.

Caraway-Apple Braised CabbageIMG_20141102_004253

  • 2 tbsp cooking oil
  • 1 medium cooking onion, finely diced
  • 1 clove garlic, minced
  • 2 slices bacon, cut into small strips
  • 1 tbsp caraway seeds
  • 1 honeycrisp apple (or another crisp type), peeled and diced
  • 1/2 head cabbage, thinly sliced.
  • 1/4 cup cider vinegar
  • 1/4 cup honey
  • 1 cup water
  • 2 bay leaves
  • salt and pepper to taste

 

IMG_20141101_231643Heat the cooking oil in a large saucepan over medium-high. Add the bacon, onion and garlic and saute until the onions are translucent. Add the caraway seeds and saute another minute to toast the seeds. Add the apples and cook until they soften slightly.

Add all the remaining ingredients. Bring up to a simmer, cover and reduce heat to medium-low. Simmer, covered, for about an hour, or until the liquid thickens slightly and just coats the bottom of the pan.

This recipe yields about 4 portions and is super cost effective. I got my cabbage at the farmers’ market for 1$ πŸ™‚ Each portion costs about 90 cents. The most expensive part of the recipe was actually the honeycrisp apple. If you’re looking to substitute – any crisp type will do. Gala, pink lady, and fuji are some good examples. Happy cooking! I promise I won’t wait so long before my next post πŸ˜‰

Leave a Reply

