Molasses Baked Beans – a nod to my heritage

I’ve been craving these for a couple weeks now. The crazy cold snap that’s taken a hold over Ottawa has given me the motivation to whip up a batch. I need some warmth! They’re not only a comfort food for me, they’re also homey. Molasses baked beans are a traditional food in Acadian Canada, from which my mother’s side of the family stems. I’ve been trying to replicate the flavour of my mom’s baked beans for years. The first attempt wasn’t worth writing home about. I’m now onto version 12 or so and I think I’m getting pretty darn close. She might protest since I don’t use the same ingredients, but, come on mom, ketchup isn’t an ingredient. It belongs on top of hot dogs and hamburger patties. I switched that and a couple other things out for a more “whole foods” oriented recipe. I use a bean pot in this recipe. If you don’t have one, you can use a crock-pot, a large deep casserole dish with a lid, or a covered pot on the stove top.IMG_20140102_213356

Molasses Baked Beans

  • 2 cups dried navy beans
  • 2 slices bacon, cut into small strips
  • 1 small onion, finely diced
  • 1 clove garlic, minced
  • 1/4 tsp ground ginger
  • 1 tsp ground mustard seed
  • 2  bay leaves
  • 1 small can tomato paste
  • 2 tbsp cider vinegar
  • 2/3 cup fancy molasses
  • 3 c water
  • 1 tbsp salt

Soak the navy beans, uncovered, overnight in plenty of cold water.

Preheat your oven to 350F.

In a medium sauce pot cook the bacon over medium heat until the fat is rendered. Add in the onions and garlic and cook until translucent. Add the ground ginger and mustard seed and toast 1 minute. Add everything but the beans to the pot and bring to a simmer. Meanwhile, strain the soaked beans and place them into a bean pot (4 qt or larger). Once the sauce is simmering pour it over the beans and give them a stir. Cover and bake for 2 hours, stirring halfway through. Remove the lid, stir and bake for another hour, uncovered.

This recipe makes 6 small servings and only costs 5$ to make.

IMG_20140102_213145

One thought on “Molasses Baked Beans – a nod to my heritage

  1. Pingback: Boston Baked Beans | gluadys' cookbooks

Leave a Reply

